Ed Stafford – Walking the Amazon

ed stafford

When British explorer Ed Stafford set out to walk the entire length of the Amazon river in April 2008, everyone said it couldn’t be done. He was told he would probably die, it was too far, he would get ill or that the dense forest, biting insects, snakes, bogs, jaguars and fearful tribes would be too much. But he went anyway.

ed_stafford_image_1 Two and half years later, 18 months longer than he thought it would take, Ed finally reached the Atlantic Ocean on 9th August 2010 and became the first known person to walk the 4000 miles length of the Amazon river from source to sea.

From 18-foot long caimans, enormous anaconda snakes, deadly pit-vipers, illness, food shortages and a particularly terrifying encounter with an indigenous tribe, Ed and his companion Cho encountered every conceivable danger along the way. In ‘Walking the Amazon’, Ed recounts his epic 860-day journey with images and footage from his astonishing expedition of endurance.

For more information visit speakersfromtheedge.com
Talk Dates:

Thursday 9th June, Town Hall, LOUGHBOROUGH, 01509 231914

Monday 13th June, Queen’s Theatre, BARNSTABLE, 01271 324242

Tuesday 14th June, Victoria Theatre, HALIFAX, 01422 351158

Wednesday 15th June, Assembly Rooms, DERBY, 01332 255800

hursday 16th June, The Lowry, SALFORD, 0843 2086000

Friday 17th June, Venue Cymru, LLANDUDNO, 01492 872000

Sunday 19th June, The Gala, DURHAM, 0191 332 4041

Monday 20th June, Opera House, BUXTON, 0845 1272190

Wednesday 22nd June, The Place, TELFORD, 01952 382382

Thursday 23rd June, Malvern Theatres, MALVERN, 01684 892277

Friday 24th June, Theatr Brycheiniog, BRECON, 01874 611622

Monday 27th June, Eden Court, INVERNESS, 01463 234234

Photographs by Keith Ducatel


Gift Your Gear

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *